Web Content Viewer

2021 Ohio Veterans HOF Virtual Induction is Nov. 11

Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services (ODVS), the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Executive Committee, and the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Foundation will honor the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame 2021 Class during its annual Induction Ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 11, at 11 a.m. In lieu of a traditional public ceremony where all 20 class members would be recognized in one setting, ODVS instead will conduct several regional recognitions.

Due to safety measures in place during the current pandemic, ODVS reached out to all of the honorees and their families to determine the most meaningful way to safely present them with their Hall of Fame medals and plaques and to allow the newly inducted members to help share their stories before loved ones. During these recognitions, a video with congratulatory remarks by Governor Mike DeWine will be shown and ODVS Director Deborah Ashenhurst will serve as emcee. The ODVS staff will record these memorable and intimate ceremonies, and highlights of these moments will be evident throughout the induction program.

The unveiling of the official 2021 Hall of Fame Induction will occur online on both OhioVets.gov and the Ohio Channel website, OhioChannel.org. See below for details.


2021 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductee Ceremony

viewable at OhioVets.gov and OhioChannel.org
Thursday, November 11, 11:00 a.m.
Inductees can be made available to the media upon request.
Please contact: Jeffrey.Rapp@dvs.ohio.gov

The complete list of 2021 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductees follows: 

Ted Barrows, Army, Franklin County
David A. Bauer*, Army, Clark County
John Joseph Callarik, Army, Belmont County
William J. (Bill) Clark, Navy, Lorain County
Wanda J. Dillard, Army, Franklin County
Michael Ferriter, Army, Franklin County
Thomas M. Humphries, Air Force, Trumbull County
Gary A. Loxley, Army/USAR/OHARNG, Warren County
Linda Strite Murnane, Air Force, Greene County
Roger R. Neff, Marine Corps, Hancock County
Joe M. Nishimoto*, Army, Marion County
Dennis F. Quebe, Marine Corps, Warren County
Barry J. Shillito*, Army Air Corps, Montgomery County
Nickolas G. Sunday, Navy, Franklin County
Harry N. Walters*, Army/USAR, Hamilton County
George F. White, MD, Navy, Scioto County
Gregory A. White, Marine Corps, Lorain County
Jo N. Wildman, Navy/Coast Guard, Greene County
Charles E. Young*, Army, Greene County
Paul R. zumFelde, Army, Fulton County

*Awarded posthumously


Bios for all 20 class members, additional information on the Hall of Fame and past inductees – able to be sorted by class, by county and alphabetically – can be found at OhioVets.gov.
Background: The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize outstanding professional achievement, service to the community, and selfless acts of veterans following their military service. Charter members of the Hall’s Class of 1992 include the six Ohio military veterans who were elected President of the United States and all Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees include astronauts, volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates, and former government officials.
The Class of 2021 was chosen from among 142 nominations. The inductees, who range in age from 25 to 95, span 13 different Ohio counties and five major branches of the United States Armed Forces – the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard. This year’s class joins 915 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since inception and represent all eras, branches of service, and walks of life.

More information is available at OhioVets.gov or you can contact our department at HallOfFame@dvs.ohio.gov.