Web Content Viewer
ODVS Announces 2020 Ohio Veterans HOF Class
Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services today announced the members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

These 20 outstanding inductees will be honored for their accomplishments and achievements at the 29th annual Induction Ceremony in November for their post-military service. This stellar class of candidates represents 16 Ohio counties and four military branches. Ohio Governor Mike DeWine unveiled the class at his press briefing this afternoon, during which time he praised their accomplishments.

The 2020 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductees are:

Inductee, Branch, County
Paul G. Butler, Navy, Clinton
David W. Chilson*, Navy, Wood
Richard D. Ellsworth, Army, Licking
Timothy A. Espich, Army/OHARNG, Clark
Kimberly D. Frisco, Air Force, Greene
William C. Graybill, Army, Brown
Glenn H. Grismere, Army, Warren
Kenneth P. Jakubec, Marine Corps, Mahoning
Thomas J. Jenks, Army, Cuyahoga
James D. Kaster, Army, Cuyahoga
Daniel R. Kirkpatrick, Air Force, Greene
Babe Kwasniak, Army, Cuyahoga
David C. Lange, Navy, Carroll
Jane M. Lengel, Army/OHARNG, Franklin
David G. Meyer, PhD, PE, Air Force, Montgomery
Carolyn E. Nagy, Army, Lucas
Connie Pillich, Air Force, Hamilton
David M. Ridenour, Army, Wood
James P. Schear, Navy, Stark
Alan R. Wallace, Navy, Fairfield

* Posthumous Award

In lieu of a traditional Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, ODVS representatives and members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Executive Committee will make arrangements with honorees and their families to present their medals and certificates in person – and in a safe environment. Our department will also produce a virtual induction "program" that will debut on November 5. Stay tuned to OhioVets.gov in the coming weeks for more information.

ODVS can accommodate members of the media, but be advised taking pictures and/or conducting interviews must be done at the discretion of our staff. (See below for contact information.)

The Class of 2020 was chosen from among 136 nominations. This year’s class joins 895 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since 1992 and represent all eras, branches of service, and walks of life.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize the post-military achievements of outstanding Ohio veterans. Charter members of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 1992 included the six Ohio veterans who were elected President of the United States as well as Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees of the past 28 years include astronauts, community volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates, and government officials.

The members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame are honored in a permanent display near the Ohio Statehouse at the Riffe Center, 77 South High Street, Columbus, Ohio.

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services on behalf of and in collaboration with the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Executive Committee administers the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame. Comprised of 13 veteran volunteers, the Executive Committee members serve as advisors to the Hall of Fame and their primary purpose is to select up to 20 honorees annually.

Bios and photos of the 2020 Class will be available at OhioVets.gov in October 2020.

For more information, call 614.644.0898, email HallOfFame@dvs.ohio.gov, or visit the Hall of Fame website.